## SoPA faculty recognized at convocation for exceptional teaching

March 24, 2023 10:00 AM SoPA News Staff sopanews@tulane.edu



The 2023 Faculty award recipients include, from back left, Corey Guerra, Joe Toth, Sam Scandaliato, Michael Wallace, Trung Nguyen, Jason Lorino; front row from left, Claudia Kheel, Flint Mitchell, Suri Duitch (award presenter), Robyn Ice, Ilianna Kwaske (award presenter), Tamar Gregorian and Brian McNamara. Honorees not pictured are Leanne Howell and Irina Tereschenko. (Photo by Don Cooper)

Thirteen School of Professional Advancement (SoPA) faculty members were recognized for exceptional teaching and service to the University through the

nomination of their students and program directors.

The highly anticipated annual Faculty Convocation was held Friday, March 17, on Tulane's uptown campus. Award recipients, faculty, staff, and guests were welcomed with refreshments prior to the ceremony, and out-of-town faculty members joined the celebration virtually.

"Our distinguished faculty awards are given to faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding classroom dedication and performance," said SoPA Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Ilianna Kwaske. "This year we had nearly 50 faculty members who were nominated by students, with several faculty members receiving multiple nominations."

Kwaske presented the distinguished faculty awards using the words of their students. In reference to Brian McNamara public administration faculty member, one student wrote, "He truly cares about his students and invests in our personal and professional growth through education."

Another student who nominated Claudia Keel, humanities & social sciences program faculty member, shared: "She really worked hard to convey all the latest material to us and made us all feel important. She introduced us to a world of amazing information and always had a great attitude. Professor Claudia Kheel keeps me wanting to learn more."

The John Percy Dyer Award is SoPA's highest teaching award. This year, the award was presented to one undergraduate and one graduate instructor. The 2023 recipients are Flint Mitchell, faculty member in the John Lewis Public Administration Program, and IT faculty member, Jason Lorino.

The 2023 recipient of the Emily Vokes Faculty Service Award is Robyn Ice, program director and senior professor of practice of the General Legal and Business & Leadership Studies programs. The award recognizes Ice's lifetime service to SoPA, including teaching, advising, administration, advocacy, and leadership.

The award's namesake, Emily Vokes began her academic career at Tulane University in 1969 as an instructor at SoPA, formerly University College She remained a champion of nontraditional students throughout her tenure and retired as dean of Newcomb College in 1996.

The full list of honorees for the 2023 Faculty Convocation award recipients includes:

## **Emily Vokes Award**

Robyn Ice - General Legal Studies, Business & Leadership Studies

## John Percy Dyer Award

Flint Mitchell - Public Administration Jason Lorino - Information Technology

## **Distinguished Faculty Award**

Tamar Gregorian - PR & DMMC
Corey Guerra - Digital Design
Leanne Howell - General Legal Studies
Claudia Kheel - Humanities & Social Sciences
Brian McNamara - Public Administration
Trung Nguyen - PreK-12 Education
Sam Scandaliato - Business & Leadership Studies
Irina Tereschenko - Kinesiology
Joe Toth - Information Technology
Michael Wallace - Emergency & Security Studies



"Our distinguished faculty awards are given to faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding classroom dedication and performance." Ilianna Kwaske, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs.